Lees Trophy Final Inspection

On Wednesday 25 June 2008 the Sqn was inspected by the Commandant Air Cadets, Air Commodore Ian Stewart BSc RAF and Sqn Ldr Pete Atkins from HQ Air Cadets as part of the Lees Trophy Competition to find the best Squadron in the Air Cadets for the preceding year.

The Air Commodore inspected the Guard of Honour (pictured, talking to Cpl Ross Davidson just behind Cdt Myles Webb) and then toured the Squdron with his Escort Cdt FS Aj Sandhu. The Cmdt then saw cadets taking part in First Aid, Practical Leadership Exercises, Air Rifle Shooting, Flight Simulator training, Website maintainence, Planning exercises, and was briefed by Cadets on their participation in activities over the preceding year.

After meeting the Civilian Committee and Cadet NCOs he took the formal salute from the Squadron formed on parade in 3 Uniformed Flights and 1 Recruit Flight, with over 150 Cadets and Recruits on parade. The Cmdt then made several presentations:

Public Service BTECs (worth 4 GCSE’s at A* to C depending on Grade):
FS Sandhu
Sgt Bhadresha
Sgt Brown
Sgt Reeves-Roberts
Cpl Davidson
Cdt Hinds

Corps Target Rifle Course – ICdt Filer
Corps Blue for Rifle Shooting – Cpl Chavener W
Flying Scholarship Certificate and Cadet Warrant – ICWO Burgess
Promotion to Cpl – Cdt Dutch J

Civilian Instructor Richard Croxon recieved a Certificate for Meritorious Service as an Adult Member of Staff on 4F (Ilford) and 241 Sqn for the last 20 years, no mean achievement

Mrs Ellen Day recieved a Defence Council Letter of Appreciation for her stirling work as Sqn Treasuer over the last 25 years (separate report to follow)

The Squadron then marched past, under the command of ICWO Mike Cross, the Sqn Cadet Senior NCO, with other NCOs taking the place of Officers and WO’s on a normal parade.

We now have a nail bitting wait to find out the result, but whatever it is the Staff, Committee and cadets have done themselves proud, and are, in the words of the Cmdt, "A magnificent Squadron"

The Lees Trophy is awarded annually to the Best Squadron in the Air Training Corps, and was presented by Air Marshall Sir Alan Lees in 1949

241 Sqn has represented London and South East Region in this competition in 1992, 1993, 1997, 2002 and 2003, winning the Morris Trophy in 2002 and 03 (then awarded to the second placed unit)